2020-2021 COVID-19 Emergency Relief Grants

516 ARTS distributes over a quarter of a million dollars to support local artists and artspaces during the pandemic.

The Fulcrum Fund, a grant program of 516 ARTS and a partner in the Regional Regranting Program of The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, gave 255 Covid-relief grants totaling $321,000 in 2020 and 2021 to independent visual artists and artspaces in New Mexico. The pandemic has disproportionally affected communities of color and artists are particularly vulnerable due to their tendencies to hold multiple part-time jobs, be employed as contract workers or as part of the gig economy, and to rely on trade-show or craft/art fairs to sell their work. 516 ARTS, along with the Warhol and Hammersley Foundations wanted to prioritize those individuals who had been hardest hit financially, resulting in 80% of the total grant funds being directed to artists identifying as people of color and Native American, Alaskan Native, or First Nations.

Major partners were the Frederick Hammersley Foundation and The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts in New York. Additional funds came from individuals and local Native-serving organizations Flower Hill Institute and Wordcraft Circle. These foundations and organizations teamed up to make a difference during this time of need for so many artists.

209 AWARDEES IN 2020

ROUND 1 to 66 ARTISTS: John Acosta, Chip Babb, Abdiel Beltran, Travis Black, Heather Bradley, Joel Brandon, Frank Buffalo Hyde, Autumn Chacon, Dana Chavez, Aric Chopito, Krista Cibis, Juliana Coles, sheri crider, Adelina Cruz, Karen Drew, Erin Elder, Karina Faulstitch, Cliff Fragua, Leah Fragua, Jeannie Frederick, Sean Paul Gallegos, Geoffrey Gorman, Rodney Lee Guerro, Katherine Hunt-Monro, Joanna Keane López, Monica Kennedy, Mike Kimball, Terran Last Gun, Courtney Leonard, Michael Long, Sonia Luévano, Dylan McLaughlin, Karen Jones Meadows, Hollis Moore, Aziza Murray, Madeline Naranjo, Ehren Natay, Caitlin Padilla, Adrian Pinnecoose, Marilyn Ray, Jackie Riccio, Eric Romero, Albert Rosales, Jeremy Salazar, Diana Stetson, Zienna Stewart, Sebastian Velasquez, John Vokoun, Adrian Wall, Martin Wannam Roca, John Well-Off-Man, Cedra Wood, Jessica Zeglin, and 14 additional artists who chose to remain anonymous.

ROUND 2 to 13 ARTSPACES: fourteenfifteen gallery, Albuquerque; Up Gallery, Albuquerque; Sanitary Tortilla Factory, Albuquerque; Karuna Colectiva, Albuquerque; Phil Space, Santa Fe; Encore Gallery at Taos Center for the Arts, Taos; Warehouse 1-10, Magdalena; Cruces Creatives, Las Cruces; Bone Springs Art Space, Roswell; ArtMaker Coop, a project of MAS Comunidad, Peñasco; Moving Arts Española, Española; LOOM Indigenous Art Gallery, Gallup; and one space that chose to remain anonymous.

ROUND 3 to 130 ARTISTS: Sherry Aragon, Rylin Paige Becenti, Brittany A. Begaye, Michael Billie, Leslie Bitsie, Jr., Mira Burack, Teri Cajero, laura c carlson, Christopher Casey, Monty Claw, Rhonda Crespin, Rovert Davis, Marian Denipah, Clara Fernando, Carlos Figueredo, Nathaniel Fuentes, John Gallegos, Stephanie Garcia, David Gaussoin, Christopher Gchachu, Juan Carlos Gonzalez, Clive Hustito, David-Alexander Sloan, Tytianna Harris, Lynnette Haozous, Heather Lynn Howard, William Hyde, Delores Juanico, Leah Rose Kolakowski, Shakti Kroopkin, Joseph Ascension Lopez, Arthur Lopez, Erica Lord, Devon Ludlow, Deborah Lujan, Collette Marie, Tom Martinelli, Earl McBride, Ashley Miller, Claudia Mitchell, Beverly Moran, Morris Muskett, Jhane Myers, Tahnibaa Naataanii, Eric Othole, Reyes Padilla, Michelle Paisano, Kristina Pardue, Jason Parrish, Jesse Philips, Adrian Pijoan, Kimberly Pollis, Eden Radfarr, Darby Raymond-Overstreet, Russell Reano, Eric-Paul Riege, Tessa Robledo, Santiago Romero, Michael Ryder, Randolph Sabaque, Gwendolyn Samuels, Carol C. Sanchez, Joseph Sanchez, Joseph Schwebach, Amanda Speer, Michele Tapia-Browning, Vicente Telles, Eric Tafoya, Michael Toya, Robyn Tsinnajinnie, Marty Two Bulls Sr., Angela Villa, Sharon Weahkee, Max Woltman, Josh Zunie, and 56 others who chose to remain anonymous.



Kristin Diener, Michael Gallarda, Saige LaFountain, Rosemary Lonewolf, Deborah Lujan, Beatrice Maestas-Sandoval, Collette Marie, Kalob Martinez, Sabra Moore, Joerael Numina, Michelle Paisano, Jason Parrish, Adrian Pinnecoose, Gwen Samuels, Joseph Schwebach, Victoria Tafoya and 24 others that chose to remain anonymous.

Recipients of artspace/organization grants: Crossroads Art & Ecology Lab, (Anthony), Peñasco Theatre Collective, (Peñasco), Exhibit/208 (Albuquerque) and 3 others who chose to remain anonymous